Doctor’s office exam room

Doctor: You have some “cobble-stoning.” I think it’s allergies, not … (there’s a knock at the door). Excuse me. (He cracks open the door, a hand appears with a Post-It note attached. I cant’ read what it says). Would you excuse me for a minute? I’m really sorry.

Me: Sure, go ahead.
Doctor (in the hallway, voice muffled through closed door): Uh-huh. Yeah. I think that’s what the reading says. No … no. It’s going to say that. I wanted you to know. Yeah. Uh-huh.

(rest of conversation inaudible).

Nurse: Doctor? I wanted you to…

Doctor: Hold on (long pause).

Nurse: I wanted you to know that D____ is coming tomorrow at 11:30. Type II diabetes and there’s a change in medication that she wants you to be aware of. I know you’re not on til noon, but I wanted you to know she’ll be here at 11:30.

Doctor: Yeah.

Nurse: Also, there will be deli sandwiches. (Inaudible) is bringing deli sandwiches.

Doctor: Uh-huh.

Nurse: So I wanted you to know.
(photo from Truthout’s Flickr)

Leave a Reply

